History of the Series

The Midlands Women's Time Trial Series was first run in 2007 to encourage more women to take part in time trials in the Midlands. For many years women have been eligible to ride open time trials but the numbers taking part were often very small and it was easy to feel isolated as a woman. The Series was not created to organise events, but simply to arrange for lots of women to turn up at the same events.  Ruth Eyles pretty much single-handedly ran the Series from 2007 to 2015, for which we are all incredibly grateful.  

From 2016, the Series will be managed by Julie Hinds, Clair Parfrey and Anna wordsworth.  We're always looking for volunteers to help out with organising the Series, so if you'd like to get involved, please contact us.  Ruth will still be involved and you'll see her around at races, but she's looking forward to spending more time focusing on other projects. 

Since 2007 in increasing number of women have taken part in the Series and the largest field of women in a Midlands event was at the 2010 Diana Cooke Memorial 10-mile TT promoted by Coventry Cycling Club. Fifty nine women were on the start sheet for that event - surely a record for a Midlands event outside a national championship?

Over the years many Midlands clubs have welcomed us at their events including: Banbury Star CC, Beacon RCC, Bromsgrove Olympique CC, Coventry CC, Leamington C&AC, Rugby RC, Shirley RC, Stafford RC, Stratford CC, Team Echelon-Rotor, Team Midland Racing, University of Birmingham CC, Walsall RCC, Warwicks RC, Wyre Forest CRC.